Sweet Potato and Black-eyed Pea Soup

Sweet Potato and Black eyed Peas. Not a combination that many would even consider. I grew up on both but never together in a soup. I believe this type of soup is common in some African cuisine. I’m not sure if my recipe does it justice but I liked it the first time I made it and this is actually my second time making it. So hopefully you will like it and you can adjust to whatever you have at home or if some ingredients are not your favorite then you can leave them out.

This is what you need:

1-2 medium sized sweet potato’s-1 medium onion

2 cloves of garlic-1 tomato(or canned 15oz can)(I used a fresh tomato

1 can of black eyed peas(you can use dried, but to save time I use canned, drained and rinsed)

A piece of ginger(I took out after it cooked)-1 bell pepper(I used yellow)

4 or 5 cups of water. Or if you have your own vegetable stock that’s fine too. I used water.

**Spices**

*Disclaimer I dont measure a lot of my seasonings so you may want to start at 1/4 to 1/2 tsp

Turmeric-Coriander-Paprika-Ground Mustard-a few sprinkles of hot pepper flakes-1 or 2 bay leaves

Garlic powder(I used fresh garlic, but I can never have enough of it.)

Everyone is ready!

What you do:

First take a big 5 or 7 quart sized, heat 1tbsp of olive oil(or whatever oil you have like) and throw in your onions after you chopped them.

I let them cooked on low heat and seasoned with salt and pepper and let them cook for about 20 minutes. In the mean time you can chop the garlic and bell pepper and throw it all in.

Next you can start peeling and dicing your sweet potato’s and your diced tomato and peel your ginger piece as well. If you want to dice up your ginger that fine too.

Now everything is ready for the pot and you can add your water or stock. Maybe a combination of both. As long as it comes up to 4-5 cups.

Bring everything to a boil and simmer to a low heat and cover your pot. Now if you are using canned peas you may want to wait till the last 10 minutes to put them. I put them in all at the same time and wished I would have waited. But it was still fine.

Let everything simmer for about 30 -45 minutes. You want your sweet potato’s to be fork tender.

The last step is totally optional but I wait till about the last 10 minutes to do this. I use 1/4 cup of peanut butter. The PB give the soup a creamy like texture and since there is not a lot of fat going on, so I didn’t think it would hurt. The is up too you.

So after 45 minutes your soup should be ready. Dont forget to take out the ginger piece and bay leaves.

I’m pretty sure this would work in a slow cooker. Just use dried peas instead.

Hope you enjoy!!!

Mahalo for reading!!!! 🙂

25 thoughts on “Sweet Potato and Black-eyed Pea Soup

    • Well it’s not something that I eat all the time. I ate enough of them growing up, to the point now I have them on New Year’s Day. But since I love this soup so much, maybe every other month. Thanks for stopping by!!!!

  1. I like that you added the peanut butter at the end. It sounds like a wonderful combination of flavors with all the spices, the ginger and the peanut butter. Great idea. Thank you!

  2. Pingback: Roasted Sweet Potato and Parsnip Soup |

What are your thoughts?

