Why do you want to touch my hair?

A movement has taken place within the African-American hair community. That would be wearing all natural hair. For the ones that are reading this may not understand what natural hair means: “natural hair is not having chemically treated or altered hair.” Chemically treated would be having a relaxer perm to your hair. Now if you are still wondering what does chemically treated means, well basically it helps give your hair a more smother texture which for some is easier to tend too. With the option of going natural women have the option of wearing their hair in the most natural /virgin state. With that not having to worry about hair breakage from the chemical that make the relaxer. The texture of the hair is coarse, kinky, curly, coily. The list goes on. Now for my disclaimer I am not an expert on hair. Whether it be African-American hair or hair that is the product of interracial mixing. I am an expert on my hair and I know what works best for me.

I’ve been completely natural for almost 2 years, my texture falls into the state of being very coarse with extremely tight coils. The journey it self was not easy to follow, let’s face it after over 20 years of having permed hair and then BAM I got my hair cut off and now I have a very short afro. As far as I was concerned I had to learn how to deal with “new hair” that I was not accustomed too. Before I got my hair permed when I was 9, my mother did the best that she could do and she always made sure on Sunday morning it looked the fliest before church. But that’s another story some other day.

After learning how to accept my new look with short hair and getting adjusted to that new freedom of get up and go hair I really didn’t know what to do with it. I mean I couldn’t just wash it and be done for the day. No way! My hair needed lots of love as in detangling (OW), moisture(YEA) and patience (HUH). So maybe for the first year my hair was looking a little dry and it stayed  in an Afro state cause I did not know how to create styles. After talking with women that wear natural I learned about YouTube. At first I didn’t go on YT to watch videos cause I didn’t see the point in it. But once I learned that I could learn so much about caring for my hair on these channels I thought it was something worth checking out. To my surprise I did not know that it was literally a whole new world, I mean these videos could go on for years. I was hooked. After watching some these videos I found some of my favorites that gave good advice for hair care and great tutorials as well. Some of my favorites are AfricanExport, Alicia James, Taren Guy and Urban Bush Babes/ Not only did these ladies give good tips on hair care, but also tips on health and beauty products and fashion ideas. I credit UBB for helping me tap back into my vintage bohemian goddess.

So back to the coils. It was natural for people not to gravitate to my new style, which was fine by me cause I wasn’t pleasing no one but myself. However some of the comments that I got was a little hurtful and I thought it was almost unfair to criticize how someone choose to style their hair. But to each its own I guess. After a while I came to love my hair for what is, and I know my hair doesn’t make it “me”, it is apart of me but so many other things come to play.  Now more than ever I get a lot of complements on different styles that I try out and I think the most I get complemented on is from on of my favorite sales associates at my local health food store. Little things like that makes a difference. So if you are an African-American woman contemplating on starting out with natural hair just remember what I said earlier about your hair needing “LOVE”. “Ow,yea,huh!

What are your thoughts?

