Vegetarianism or not?

Image

When I first got to Hawaii almost 5 years ago, I wasn’t eating any meat, maybe a little bit of seafood here and there and that was it. If you have ever been to the North Shore on Oahu and seen the abundance of shrimp trucks you can definitely attest to them. I mean colossal shrimp served in a buttery sauce of garlic with two scoops of rice? How you can not want that after combating the monster waves on the North Shore? Just driving to the North Shore for such delicacy is worth the trip.

So let me get back to my topic, cause I’m tempted to drive up there now! So as I was saying I wasn’t eating any “real” meat when I got here. At first I thought it was pretty cool, cause I didn’t have this heavy weighed down feeling that I usually would have. Well due to such a pretty long work schedule it was hard to plan my meals ahead and know how to make choices for last minute meals. I was working on one of the ships in Pearl Harbor and most of the meals were not vegetarian friendly. I mean there was an option to have a salad everyday but sometimes that wasn’t enough to hold you for the next meal. So I started eating more carbs which was a bad decision and my energy level dropped. On top of that I wasn’t working out as much as I was before my move to Hawaii. At one point I was running 3 miles a day 4 times a week. Once I got to Hawaii I was lucky if I had ran any that month. So of course I put on weight. In 2010 I started eating chicken again and actually it was Korean chicken. I thought I had died and went to heaven. That was my first time having it and I was hooked. So I started eating more chicken, but I stuck with boneless chicken instead. Here and there I would have some steak only to find out that I was better off without it and I even ate a little bit of pork, and it left me feeling the same about beef.

So maybe for the past 2 months I’ve been eating more vegetarian meals through out the week. Maybe 2 meals on the weekend that are either seafood or chicken. I feel the problem that I had at the beginning was that I didn’t do my research and I didn’t know about so many veggie options. Now I can create all three meals without meat for the entire week. But I struggle still at wanting to go completely vegetarian.  Living here on a island with so many seafood options does not make it easy. Salmon is my absolute favorite and I love the Ahi Poke bowls. But it get’s more stranger when sometimes I crave foods that are completely vegan over foods that are meat based. I feel that it is a balancing act that you have to go through and if you choose to eat completely meatless for a day, week, or even a month it’s your choice.

3 thoughts on “Vegetarianism or not?

What are your thoughts?

